What is Non-GMO Chocolate and Why Does it Matter?

“GMO” stands for genetically modified organisms, which means that instead of using all natural ingredients to create the food we eat, at times scientists genetically engineer plants for various reasons.

It’s kind of like if the Terminator were your personal chef…and nobody wants that.

Further, genetically modified organisms carry with them a whole host of baggage, from corporations trying to patent their new version of a traditional food to health concerns for consumers.

We believe that to get the best tasting chocolate candy, we need to use the best, natural ingredients. Everything that goes into our bars, from coconut to peanut butter, to raspberry jam to caramel, is 100% non-GMO, and it has been from the start.

Need some suggestions? People love our coconut minis and PB&J bars.

Why Choose OCHO’s Non-GMO Candy Bars?

You’ll find real, organic ingredients in our products. Words you can understand, like organic cane sugar, organic vanilla, organic peanut butter…you get the picture. We founded this company creating delicious, organic treats and we intend to stay that way–it’s right there in our name: OCHO stands for Organic CHOcolate, and that’s not going to change.

You can check the certifications on any of our products by looking for the icons below on their product pages:
icons indicating nutrition information, non-GMO,, fair trade, organic and - for some of our products - vegan
Note that only our Coconut and Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter flavors are currently vegan.

Shop OCHO’s Always Non-GMO Chocolate