What Makes Your Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in various grains and related plants, so much like chocolate is naturally vegan, it is also naturally gluten-free. Exceptions occur when chocolatiers add things like wheat to their product.

Here at OCHO Candy, we happily allow all of our chocolate to stay gluten-free–from where our chocolate is made, all the way to your tastebuds, and we’re certified by the Gluten Free Food Program USA to prove it!

That means you can enjoy all of our chocolate, from our PB&J bars to our coconut minis and still stick to your gluten-free dietary restrictions without worry.

Why Isn’t All Chocolate Gluten-Free?

Sometimes chocolate makers simply choose to add ingredients that contain gluten, such as pretzels or cookies. Other times, their candies are made on equipment that also manufactures products which aren’t gluten-free. This can potentially cross-contaminate even those chocolate candies that don’t list ingredients that would add gluten in the first place.

Want to know which certifications our various chocolates meet? Look for these icons on their respective pages on the site:
icons indicating nutrition information, non-GMO, gluten-free, fair trade, organic and - for some of our products - vegan
Note that only our Coconut and Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter flavors are currently vegan.

Since there are an overwhelming number of chances for chocolate candies to become cross-contaminated with gluten, we made sure to get ourselves certified so that you, dear fellow chocolate lover, can enjoy OCHO without worry.

Shop OCHO’s Gluten-Free Chocolate